In the situation where you want to get rid of your Android or start with a clean slate, performing a ‘factory reset’ is just what you need to do.
It is called so because it restores the phone back to the state when it was ‘fresh from the box’.
While this procedure is enough to safeguard your data, there are people who can still dig up your data. For this reason, it is a good idea to encrypt your phone too if you’re planning to donate or sell it to someone else too.
Of course, before you do this, ensure that you backup data that you consider important. That said, here are is how you reset your Android phone:
First, you have to find the Backup and reset menu on your phone, which performs the functions as the name of the menu suggests.
Even if a number of phones’ menus have different options for backup, the first thing that you will need to do is look for the reset option at the bottom of the menu.
When you tap on this option, you will find that it will throw up a number of actions that will be performed and which includes deleting all data from your phone.
In the case, where you smartphone or tablet has expandable storage, wiping the external memory card will also be an option you have at your disposal. Of course, this is completely up to you but isn’t necessary.
Once you tap Reset phone or Reset device, your phone will reboot in recovery mode and will wipe the tablet or phone.
As soon as it reboots, you’ll find that it has returned to its factory settings and requires you to set it up again or give it a new user.